Enable Track Changes
To enable Track Changes:
- Navigate to the Review toolbar.
- Toggle Track Changes on.
Note: Only Document Owners can enable Track Changes.
View Tracked Changes
After you enable Track Changes, you’ll see changes marked accordingly.
- Additions are in blue with an underline and a blue pin.
- Removals are marked with a red pin.
- Changes (locations where text has been both added and removed) are noted with a purple pin.
You can jump between changes by clicking the Previous or Next buttons in the Review toolbar, or by opening the Track Changes panel from the right toolbar.
In the Track Changes panel, you can see a list of all tracked changes in your current section and preview those changes in the document. Clicking a change in the panel highlights the change in the document.
Note: This panel shows changes for the selected section, not the section currently in view.
If you’d like to see your document with changes accepted, you can hide the change markers using the Hide Changes option in the Review toolbar. You can view the changes again by clicking Show Changes .
A blue vertical line to the left of a section in the document outline indicates that section contains tracked changes.
Accept or Reject Individual Changes
Document owners can both accept and reject any tracked changes, while Editors can reject any changes.
To accept or reject an individual change:
- Open the Track Changes panel.
- Select a change.
- Click the Approve or Reject buttons.
You can also accept or reject changes by right-clicking the change in the document and choosing Approve or Reject from the dropdown menu. Once accepted or rejected, the change indicators disappear.
Accept or Reject All Changes
You can accept or reject changes at the section or document level via the Approval icon in the toolbar. Once you accept or reject all tracked changes, you can’t undo this action.
Exporting documents with track changes to PDF or EDGAR display as if all track changes are accepted, but this does not accept all changes in your document.