Add tables to your Presentation to display large amounts of data. Edit tables and format right within your Presentation. Learn how to lock table cells to prevent changes. Work with cell properties including alternate row fill, value formatting, decimals and more.
Insert a table
To insert a table into your Presentation:
- 1
Click the Table icon on the Edit tab. A table with five columns and ten rows is inserted.
- 2
Click and drag the table to move as needed on your slide
- 3
Select the table to access appropriate formatting tools in the Edit tab
- 4
Right click on row and column indicators to add or remove columns and rows
- 5
Click and drag on the borders between columns and rows to resize
Inserting a table in a Presentation functions the same as inserting a table in a document. Learn more in the article and associated videos in Create a table.
Adjust table defaults
To adjust the table defaults:
- 1
Click the Properties icon in the File menu
- 2
Click Presentation
- 3
Click the Table Formats tab and make adjustments to Entered In, Shown In, Formulas and Decimals
Merge and split cells
You can combine multiple cells into one cell by using the merge and split options.
To merge cells in a table:
- Select the cells you want to merge.
- Right-click the cells and select Merge Cells from the dropdown menu.
- Select how you want to merge the cells.
- Merge All combines cells across both rows and columns.
- Merge Horizontally combines the cells into single rows.
- Merge Vertically combines the cells into single columns.
Note: Merging cells across multiple rows and cells at once retains only the information in the top-left cell.
To split a cell or range of cells in a table into multiple cells:
- Select the cells you want to split.
- Right-click the cells and select Merge Cells .
- Choose Unmerge from the menu.
Drag and drop cells
To drag and drop cells in your embedded table:
- Select cells in your table.
- Hover over the border of the selection until a hand indicator appears.
- Drag the cells to your desired location.
Lock table cells
Locking cells prevents changes to data, including changes to the formatting. Locking only a destination cell still allows the value of that cell to be changed at the source, and you can still tag XBRL on locked cells.
Note: Only file Owners can lock and unlock cells.
To lock a table or cells:
- Select the cells.
- From the Edit toolbar, click the Lock icon.
Note: Rows, columns, or tables containing locked cells cannot be deleted.
Once you lock a cell, editors will be unable to make further changes. If you’d like to allow editing again, select the cells and click Unlock in the toolbar.
Cell properties
Table cells in Presentations are modified in the same ways as table cells in documents. To learn more, see the article and videos called Styling in tables.
To open the Formats panel, right click on the table and select Cell Properties . Here you can see several options for modifying cell contents:
- Alternate Row Fill
- Value Formatting
- Decimals (Automatic Options)
- Leader Dots (Advanced Options)
- Row and Column Size
You can also format table cells using the formatting icons in the Edit toolbar. These table cell formatting options include:
- Add a background color
- Format the text within the table cell
- Add custom borders
- Align the contents of the cells
Copy a table
To copy a table from one slide to another:
- 1
Click on the table to select
- 2
Right click the upper left-hand corner cell
- 3
Choose Copy or use Ctrl+C on your keyboard
- 4
Move your cursor to the slide for the new table and use Ctrl+V to paste
Note: You can also copy an existing table from a document and paste it into a blank Presentations table. To do this, you must first insert a blank table from the Edit tab.
Delete a table
To delete a table:
- 1
Right-click anywhere on your table
- 2
Choose Delete Table from the drop down menu