This article is for:
- Workspace Owners and Org Workspace Admins
All workspace settings are inherited from the organization, but can be overridden. If the workspace’s notification settings differ from the organization’s, a Reset to org settings link will appear. This will erase all changes and return the settings to the organization's default.
Email notification settings
Email notifications are enabled by default and can’t be turned off at the workspace level. However, you can choose specific settings for your email notifications.
You can choose whether or not to display the comment in the email notification. If you select this option, the comment will be shown in the email notification along with the name of the person who left the comment. If you don’t select this option, you will have to open the file to view the comment.
If email bundling is enabled, the email notification will show multiple comments.
Display sender name
You can choose whether or not to display the sender’s name in the email notification. If you select this option, the name of the person that performed the activity in Workiva will be shown as the sender in the email notification. If this option is not selected, the emails will be sent from “Workiva Notifications.”
This setting doesn’t apply to bundled emails. The sender for bundled emails will be “Workiva Notifications.”
Bundling is a way to combine notifications into one email instead of receiving a single email each time there is activity in Workiva.
Email notifications can only be bundled for comment and task activity in Workiva.
If you choose to enable bundling, you’ll need to set the minimum and maximum delay for the notifications.
- Minimum delay: Set the minimum amount of time the system should wait before sending bundled notifications. That is, if this amount of time passes without any new notification activity, the notifications bundle will be sent. This value can't be greater than 1440 minutes.
- Maximum delay: Set the maximum amount of time the system will delay before sending bundled notifications. That means this is the longest amount of time allowed between when an activity occurs and when the user is notified. This value can't be greater than 1440 minutes.
Let’s say the minimum is set to five minutes. If a user is mentioned in a comment at minute two, and again at minute six, they’ll be notified of both comments at minute 11 if no other activity has occurred.
Let’s say the maximum is set to 20 minutes. If a user is mentioned in a comment every two to three minutes, they’ll be notified of all comments 20 minutes after the first comment activity occurred.
Slack notification settings
Slack notifications for Workiva are currently a beta feature and will require manual installation and configuration.
You can enable Slack notifications for your workspace and start receiving Slack notifications for Workiva content such as directed comments, tasks, reminders, requests, and more. Individual users can opt out of receiving these notifications if they wish by going to their Workiva User Profile. See Add Workiva notification to Slack for details and setup instructions.
Once you’ve made your selections for the notification settings, click Save changes. The settings will be updated for the entire workspace.