This article is for:
- Org Security Admins
The Activity Retention setting controls how long Workiva stores activity log entries. By default, this setting is disabled and Workiva stores all historical activity log records. If enabled, Workiva will only store the activity log entries from the last year. Any time this setting is enabled or disabled, an activity entry is published to the org activity log.
When this setting is enabled:
- Activity log entries are automatically archived after 365 days, then deleted 30 days later.
- Only org and workspace activity logs are affected. There's no impact on the SSO activity log.
You can enable and disable this setting as needed. When you enable the setting, remember:
- Any activity entries created more than one year ago are automatically archived for 30 days and then permanently deleted.
- Depending on the size of your activity logs, it may take some time to finish clearing old entries.
If you'd like to keep a copy of activity logs outside of Workiva, export those logs before enabling this setting.
Enable the Activity Retention setting
To enable the Activity Retention setting:
- From Org Admin, go to Security.
- Click the Activity Retention tab.
- Select the checkbox to Automatically clear activity log entries after 365 days.
- In the dialog box, confirm that you understand the setting.
- Click Save Changes.