Classic file types are no longer available for use as of January 2021. You can transition your classic files or download a PDF. Learn More

Automatic Saving in Next Generation Documents

0

Opmerkingen

5 opmerkingen

  • Mike

    Hi Ashley!

    I can confirm that its both yes and no here. Its true that a revision is captured in the History panel in 5 minute buckets, but the platform actually saves more often than every 5 mins. There are saves happening behind the scenes that should capture your changes, even if you edits last less than 5 minutes, and you do NOT need to stay logged in for the 5 mins for those changes to be saved.

    We would not expect your co-worker's edit to have not been saved, so we'd definitely encourage them to to reach out to Customer Support to troubleshoot any possible issues, such as connection difficulties they may have had an impact on that save. I don't have a workaround to pull in those changes that did not change, however.

    Hopefully this helps answer some of your questions. Let me know if I can explain any further, or if you need anything else. Thanks for reaching out, and chat with you soon!

     

     

    0
  • Andrew McKenzie

    Mike or someone else from Workiva: is this information still accurate? I can't find this officially stated in the support documentation (e.g., nothing to this effect is mentioned in Revisions and history in documents), and I'm not familiar with the idea of "next-gen" documents and want to make sure these are just normal documents (I assume this is just retired branding).

    0
  • Mike

    Hi Andrew!

    Thanks for the question. Its a good one.

    You're right in that "next gen" was our rebranding as we migrated over to our new platform. Today, we simply call them "Documents" but the prior and new version existing at the same time for a bit, so we called them "next gen". Anyway, neither here nor there...

    I'm asking our experts to confirm how this works today for sure and will get back to you ASAP on that answer. Stay tuned!

    0
  • Mike

    Hi Andrew,

    I got some follow-up on how the revisions work. ​A Workiva file will auto save a revision every 5 minutes​ if some kind of edit​ is made. T​here are some non-edit activities that will add a revision​, such as exporting to PDF​ or external link publishing. If you are just scrolling through a file or have the file open​, it will not add a revision to it.

    So, if edits are being made to the file by you or multiple users, it will create a new revision in 5 minute intervals, or when previously mentioned non-editing actions are performed. Does that make sense?

    0
  • Andrew McKenzie

    Thanks Mike; this makes sense and thanks for confirming that it is still valid!

    0

U moet u aanmelden om een opmerking te plaatsen.