After building your process, click Run in the toolbar to start it. Running a process starts your actions (or just the first action, if your actions are set to start One after another) and sends tasks to your assignees.
Track your progress
Running a process switches you to the process status view that lets you monitor your process's status.
From this view, you can see:
- Each action and its status (sent, approval, returned, or complete)
- The due date for each action
- A chart showing the progress at a glance
- When your process was run
- The action trigger (All at the same time, One after another, or Manual)
- Your process's overall status (Running, completed, or canceled)
Use this view to edit or cancel individual actions. You can also add additional tasks to your process while it's running.
Note: Only certification actions and letters can’t be edited after they’ve already been sent out.
Learn more about monitoring a process.
Once you run your process, each assignee receives an email with a link to view their task. If your action is a content request, the email links directly to the assigned file or section. If your action is a certification, the email links directly to the assigned letter.
For tasks with specified files and for content requests, both you and the assignee can view the task’s details in the Tasks panel in the file.
When the assignee completes their task, they can mark it complete from the Tasks panel or from Home. Marking a task as complete updates the process run and sends an email to the approver, if assigned. For completing certification tasks, see Sign a letter.
Learn more about using Tasks in Workiva.
When can assignees access their files in content requests?
For files in content requests, when you run a process, you don’t need to manually update your files’ permissions—assignees receive Editor permission to their file as soon as their action starts.
If your action trigger is set to All at the same time, your assignees get Editor permission to their file as soon as your process runs. If your action trigger is set to One after another or Manual, assignees will only get Editor permissions once their specific action starts.
After the assignee completes their task, their permissions are set to Viewer. Any approvers also receive Viewer permissions to review the content updates. If the approver returns the task to the assignee for rework, the assignee will receive Editor access again.
Learn more about completing or approving process tasks.