After you transition, the last step is to disable classic. Your Customer Success Manager (CSM) will partner with you to plan and schedule a time for classic to be disabled. Disabling classic can only be performed by someone from Workiva.
Classic is disabled for each workspace in your organization. So if you have multiple workspaces, each workspace will need classic disabled. With classic disabled, you’ll still see all of your classic files listed and can export a PDF or transition them. Review the information below for details and answers to common questions.
What should I do to prepare?
To help prepare, start talking with your team to let them know the change is coming. If you are actively working in any classic files, wrap up any efforts and transition those files to the next gen file types.
To help prepare, follow these steps:
- Work with your team to let them know classic files are going to being disabled.
- Export past revisions, blacklines, milestones, or other historical file information you might need.
- Make sure everyone shares any needed open drafts. To view open drafts, click your name in the lower left, then select My Profile and click My Drafts.
- Organize your files using folders. Projects are no longer available when classic is disabled.
What happens when classic is disabled?
When classic is disabled for a workspace, you can:
- No longer create or import new classic files – this includes importing from the SEC
- No longer view or open existing classic files – this includes history, blacklines, and comments
- No longer edit content of existing classic files
- No longer use projects to manage files
The following file types are considered classic:
- Classic Documents
- Classic Workbooks
- Classic Presentations
- Classic Data Collections
Can I access my classic files?
With classic disabled, you’ll still see all of the classic files you had access to listed in Home or All Files. However, you will not be able to open or edit the content of classic files.
When you click on a classic file to open it, you’ll have the option to export a PDF or transition it to a next generation file type. Learn more in Access Classic Files.
Are there changes to how files look?
With classic files disabled, you’ll notice a few changes in Home and Files. Classic files will be gray and will have [Classic] at the beginning of the file name.
How do I organize my files?
Going forward you’ll use folders to organize and manage your files instead of projects. Here are a few resources to help with that.
What’s included in the PDF export?
When you export a PDF of a classic file, you’ll get a copy of the last revision of that file. The export does not include comments, attachments, unaccepted track changes, or other historical information. If you need access to historical information, such as revisions, markup, track changes, blacklines, or comments, after classic is disabled, you will need to contact firstname.lastname@example.org.
How does this impact permissions?
When classic is disabled, any permissions set are kept intact. As such, those with owner permissions can continue to manage permissions for the file, but can no longer manage section permissions using advanced permissions. Those with editor or viewer permissions can export a PDF of a classic file.