The Share Draft and Discard Draft features of Wdesk allow an Administrator of an account to share a draft from another user via the admin component, so that it can be edited by all users with permissions or discarded entirely. This is typically used when a user has outstanding drafts and is unable to share or discard the draft. An example would be a user who has either left the company or is on leave and cannot be reached to share or discard their draft.
Finding the Draft Document
Log in to the Admin component of Wdesk. From the Content tab, find and select the document by clicking on the document name. Now click the Drafts button. From the list of users who currently have draft sessions, click the desired user's name.
On the following screen, you have two options:
Share Draft - this will share all outstanding drafts the user has for this document
Discard Draft - this will discard all outstanding drafts the user has for this document
In addition to the two actionable buttons, the dialog will display relevant document information.
NOTE: Once you have performed a draft share or discard, you cannot undo the action.
If you or the user with the drafts are in the document to be affected, you will see a message displayed at the top of the draft information page.
You will be prompted to confirm the draft share and will see subsequent status and confirmation messages. When you return to Wdesk, the History panel will display "Username sharing on behalf of Username" in the revision history. Be aware of any linked documents that are in draft, as you will need to share those changes as well to preserve the linked data's integrity.
You will be prompted to confirm the discard and will see subsequent status and confirmation messages. Again, be aware of any linked documents that are in draft that may also need to be discarded to preserve linked data integrity.