This article contains classic binder content. To view content for the new binder feature, click here.
Once you're ready to distribute your Binder, you can send it to approvers for review or to your final viewers.
Assign binder permissions
By default, your Binder can’t be accessed by other users. You can adjust permissions to change who can access your binder before and after publishing.
- Viewers can access your Binder after it has been published. They'll only be able to see the most recently published version.
- Editors can access your Binder before it has been published, add new documents to it, and restructure tabs.
To adjust your Binder's permissions:
- From Home, right-click your Binder.
- Select Permissions from the menu.
- Select users in your workspace to add as Editors or Viewers.
- Click Close to save your changes.
Publish your binder
To publish your Binder for viewers, click Publish from the toolbar.
Publishing your Binder saves the current Binder as a revision. Click Preview in the File toolbar to see the current and previously-published versions. Viewers can only see the current version.
If you change your Binder after publishing, click Publish again to create a new revision of your binder.
After publishing your Binder, you can notify your collaborators via email. To send out email notifications:
- From the File toolbar, click Notify.
- Select users from the list or begin typing a name.
- Enter a custom message to include in the email.
- Click Send.
Note: You can only send an email notification to users with Viewer or Editor permissions to your Binder.
Save a binder as PDF
If you need to distribute your Binder to users outside of Workiva, you can save your Binder as a PDF. To save your Binder, click Save PDF in the File toolbar.
Your PDF download begins automatically.
If you only need to save a specific binder tab, you can create an individual PDF by clicking the arrow next to the tab's name and selecting Print Current Tab.